常见问题回答

 

关于 Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石公司的提问

您的流通量提供者是谁?

Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石的通过全球性机构间的连接和交易网络,将银行和外汇投资者的流动性结合起来,以此提供流动性.

谁拥有 Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石?

Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石是一个总部设在澳大利亚的全球交易公司,我们澳洲商业号码是 12 147 055 703。澳大利亚激石拥有一个经验丰富的管理团队,其成员具有多年在外汇和技术等行业领先的经验.

澳大利亚激石如何存放我的资金?

所有客户资金都被存放在客户隔离账户中,存款银行是澳大利亚国民银行,是全球顶级资信银行.

Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石金融有限公司受澳大利亚证券与投资委员会 ASIC 监管 [ AFSL 执照号码 414530 ]。

ASIC 要求金融服务供应商持有执照,满足严格的资本要求,并执行和遵守内部程序,包括风险管理,员工培训,会计和审计.

Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石提供什么样的服务?

Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石是从事 OTC 外汇交易的国际外汇经纪商,提供主要和次要的世界货币,黄金和白银产品.

我们提供了一个独特的组合,使用 MT4 平台实现 ECN 模式的在线交易,不和客户作为对手盘.

什么是 Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石?

Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石是澳大利亚的外汇经纪商,适合从初学者到专业人员的各个类型的交易者。如果你想了解澳大利亚激石的历史以及监管信息,请访问“ 关于我们“ 页面.

我怎样才能在澳大利亚激石开始一个真实账户?

开户流程很简单。您只要在主页上点击 “开立真实账户” 的按钮,填写账户申请表即可完成.

您的帐户登录用户名(数字),交易/投资人密码,MT4 交易平台的服务器将通过电子邮件发送给您。请将这些资料保存以供将来参考.

我需要提供什么文件给 Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石吗?

Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石需要分值 100 点的 ID 身份证明文件,以验证您的帐户。更多详情,请访问:

100 点 ID 检查

我怎样才能把钱存入我的帐户?

  • 从您的银行帐户电汇
  • 信用卡存款
  • Moneybookers

 

我怎么能取回我的资金?

提交出金表格给我们,表格在我们网站上的 出金页面 能找到。提款 24 小时内处理(1 个工作日或更少)

你们是否接受美国的客户?

美国客户很遗憾不能在 Pepperstone 开户。Pepperstone 作为全球性的外汇经纪商欢迎来自世界各地的客户,遗憾的是美国 CTFC 的条例不允许美国客户与非美国经纪公司开户。Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石严格遵守所有国际法规和澳大利亚的法律,因此,在目前,Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石无法接受美国客户.

 

有关交易的提问

Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石 GMT 时间是?

目前,Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石交易服务器设置为 H + 3 小时.

你们清算是在什么时间?

Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石的清算时间在 MT4 平台的 0:00 时间.

什么是 PPI 价格改善系统?

在剧烈波动、快速变化的市场,价格通常改变地非常快。如果价格波动到对您有利的位置,我们的 PPI 价格改善技术能检测到最优的价格变动。如果可能的话,您的价格将在更有利的位置上成交。在此情况下,即市场波动对您有利的环境下,我们不重新报价 - 我们只是给您更好的价格。

什么是滑点?

滑点是指一笔交易或挂单交易,实际订单成交价格与预设价格之间存在差异的一种交易现象。它发生在市场价格产生较大变化,而流通量跟不上价格变化的时刻,例如市场跳空,可能是周末结束后重新开市,或者在重大新闻事件后(例如就业数据或利率决议)。所有市场偶尔都会发生滑点是普遍共识,而在ECN撮合交易的公正机制下,当投资者预设一个止盈单、止损单或挂单后,如市场价格达到投资者设定的触发价格时,止盈单、止损单或挂单将会成为市价单,并以当时可执行的最优市场价格成交。因此,滑点可能导致更大的收益,或是更大的损失,收益和风险的概率是相等的。

以下为几种挂单和止盈止损的价格波动情况,这四种情况均发生在价格变动时买卖流动性不对称的情况下:

例子1、平仓之限价委托单(止盈)
持有多单 - 执行“限价卖出”平仓,即“止盈”。

挂单:客户以市价买入1手现货黄金XAUSUD (持有多单),开仓价为1375.16, 同时,该客户马上以1376.90,建立一张平仓之限价委托(即止盈)。

执行:建立委托单后,「卖价」之后一直没有升至1376.90, 然而之后市场突然出现较大波动, 市场报价「跳空」情况出现, 卖价突然穿越委托单之价格 (1376.90),跳至1377.34,触发系统以跳空后的第一口市场价1377.34执行成交。和预设止盈价1376.90相比,多获利44美金。

持仓单类型

手数

商品

价位

止盈挂单Sell Limit设置(卖出)

成交价格

买入

1

XAUUSD

1375.16

1376.90

1377.34


例子2:平仓之停损委托单 (止损)
持有空单 - 执行“停损买入”平仓,即“止损”。
挂单:客户以市价卖出1手现货黄金XAUSUD (持有空单),开仓价为1430.23, 同时,该客户马上以1432.83,建立一张平仓之停损委托(即止损)。
执行:建立委托单后,「买价」之后一直没有升至1432.83, 然而之后市场突然出现较大波动, 市场报价「跳空」情况出现, 买价突然穿越委托单之价格 (1432.83),跳至1433.02,触发系统以跳空后的第一口市场价1433.02执行成交。和预设止损价1432.83相比,多损失19美金。

持仓单类型

手数

商品

价位

止损挂单Buy Stop设置(买入)

成交价格

卖出

1

XAUUSD

1430.23

1432.83

1433.02


例子3
:开仓之限价委托单(限价买入)
未持仓,挂单入场。
挂单:客户建立了一张限价买入委托单(开仓),买入1手欧美货币对,挂单价为1.3180
执行:成功建立委托单后,「买价」之后一直没有跌至1.3180,然而之后市场突然出现较大波动,市场报价「跳空」情况出现,,买价突然穿越委托单之价格 (1.3180),下降至1.3173,触发系统以跳空后的第一口市场价1.3173执行成交。和预设开仓价1.3180相比,多获利70美金。

开仓挂单类型

手数

商品

预设价位

成交价格

限价买入Buy Limit

1

EURUSD

1.3180

1.3173


例子4:开仓之停损委托单(停损卖出)
未持仓,挂单入场。
挂单:客户建立了一张停损卖出委托单(开仓),卖出1手镑美货币对,挂单价为1.6420
执行:成功建立委托单后,「卖价」之后一直没有跌至1.6420,然而之后市场突然出现较大波动,市场报价「跳空」情况出现,卖价突然穿越委托单之价格(1.6420),跌至1.6418,触发系统以跳空后的第一口市场价1.6418执行成交。和预设开仓价1.6420相比,少挣或多损失20美金。

开仓挂单类型

手数

商品

价位

成交价格

停损卖出 Sell Stop

1

GBPUSD

1.6420

1.6418

任何订单(包括止盈、止损、挂单)均可能因市况波动或受跳空的影响,未能在预设的价格执行。如遇上此情况,订单将会按照市场下一个最有利的价格执行,滑点的程度取决于市场买卖双方的流动性。在ECN匿名撮合成交的模式下,每个客户的订单都会被公平匿名撮合,每个客户都可能得到更大的收益或亏损,其收益和风险是双向对等的。

你们每天的开盘和收盘时间分别是?

开盘时间:MT4 平台 0 时

收盘时间:MT4 平台 23:55

我的帐户可以选择什么样的杠杆水平?

Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石的交易账户提供 1:1 到 1:500 杠杆

开立账户的最低金额是多少?

Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石的最低开户金额为 800 美元

黄金(XAUUSD)市场交易时间是?

黄金(XAUUSD)在 GMT +3(图表时间)的时区上:
交易时间对应为:周一 01:00 开盘到周五 23:00 收盘
其中,每天休息停盘时间为 00:00-01:00 (图表时间)
以上时间均为平台上显示的时间.

 

关于 MT4 的常见提问

我的平台显示“Trade Context is busy”.

请关闭并重新启动 MT4 平台。这个错误应该就会消失.

我的 EA 不运行.

检查终端的“EA”选项。如果 EA 试图交易却没有成功,它会显示一个错误号码。您可以 下载 PDF 版本的所有 MT4 的错误代码.

我的模拟账户无法登录.

模拟账户标准到期时间为 30 天。为了得到一个新的模拟账户,您可以在 MT4 平台的“文件”>“开始一个新帐户”,这样,您就可以生成一个新的用户名和密码,此过程无需再次下载平台软件安装.

我的账户显示为无效.

当您的登录用户名和密码信息不正确的时候,会显示无效的帐户。请检查您的登录名,密码和服务器地址是否填写正确.

我无法找到的隔夜利息.

在市场报价区域,单击右键,选择“交易品种列表”。点击一个交易符号(交易货币对)的属性,就会显示所有货币对的细节,包括隔夜利息.

为什么星期三的隔夜利息是三倍利息?

对于星期三有下单并隔夜的,您付出或得到的隔夜利息会是往日的 3 倍。这是由周三的订单,交易结算时间在周末,而周末停盘,延迟到周一,因此三倍利息.

为什么我不能看到所有货币对?

要查看所有货币,请右键点击市场报价,然后选择“显示全部”.

我想改变我的图表时间.

交易平台的时间不能改变。在 MetaQuotes 社区上有当地时间的指标下载.

 

关于外汇的提问

什么是点差?

点差是市场报价上,买入价和卖出价的之间差额.
买入价是下买单时对应的价格,卖出价是下卖单时对应的价格。澳大利亚激石提供行业内最低点差,正常点差都在主要货币对 1 到 3 个点之间.

最低交易手数是多少?

我们支持微型手 - 0.01 手,这相当于 1000 单位的基础货币.

Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石的收费佣金是多少?

Standard 标准账户我们不收取任何费用或佣金。我们的收益来自于我们从银行同业市场的少量加点.
Razor 尖锋账户,我们只收取少量的佣金。而交易货币对的点差可以低至 0.1 点.

报价

Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石让客户能够在外汇市场上最大的流动性提供者所提供的实时报价上直接成交订单。订单的报价随着市场的变化实时更新.

如何在互联网上交易?

Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石使您的互联网交易变得简单。您只需下载并安装的MT4软件,并登录到您的帐户。然后开始建仓 — 单击平台的“新订单”按钮,在订单窗口输入所需的交易量,然后单击买入或者卖出,如此通过互联网交易订单只需要简单的两个步骤即可完成。只需输入手数,然后点击买入或卖出按钮,就能建立一个市价订单。您的交易就会被交易软件自动执行,软件会自动计算保证金要求,如果账户上有足够的可用保证金,这笔交易就立即成交了。新建仓的订单就会在您的平台上显示出来,并且根据市场行情显示当前变动价格.

我可以在 Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石的交易平台上设置挂单吗?

是的,你可以。Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石的 MT4 软件接受任何挂单.

什么是保证金,我怎么能计算我需要多少保证金?

保证金就是您下单时需要抵押的这部分资金。保证金是基于当时基础货币对美元的汇率、您要开仓的交易量,以及您的杠杆这三个因素的一个简单计算。如果你没有足够的可用保证金,交易软件就不会让您建仓。您的可用保证金会在MT4交易终端上显示出来。要计算开仓需要多少保证金,请使用下列公式计算:(市场报价*数量)/杠杆保证金= $所需保证金。例如。您要开 0.1 手 EUR / USD(10,000 单位的基准货币),目前欧美的市场报价为 1.4177,您的杠杆式 1:200。那么您需要的保证金就是(1.4177 * 10000)/ 200 = 70.89 美元。从这个例子中,你用 1:200 的杠杆就需要至少 70.89 美元的可用保证金,去开设一个 0.1 手的欧美订单。这说明澳大利亚激石给您提供的杠杆起了非常大的作用。如果你选择 1:1 的杠杆,你去交易相同的订单就需要可用保证金就是 14177 美元,而不是 70.89 美元!

如果我没有可用保证金了,我会得到一个追加保证金通知吗?

不会。您的可用保证金可以成为负数。你的交易还将仍然保持直到您的权益水平下降到 50% 以下(权益:所持有头寸需要的保证金水平),即权益低于 50% 时会被系统强行平仓。就用上文中的例子来说,持有订单需要的保证金要求是 177.22 美元,那么等到账户净值跌至 88.61 美元,就需要追加保证金.

成交确认

订单成交的话就会在屏幕上得到确认,通常时间在一秒钟内。完整的交易细节也会在屏幕上显示出来,包括成交日期,时间,汇率,名义买卖数量,美元价值,以及参考号码.

我在屏幕上看到一个最新的账户报告吗?

MT4 软件实时更新所有交易信息,让客户直接在屏幕上查看当前开仓位置,未平仓的浮动利润和损失,可用保证金,账户余额,以及所有历史交易明细。只要选择“历史记录”选项,在交易终端即可查看.

我怎样才能生成帐户报表?

您可以从交易终端选择“历史记录”选项,来生成自己的账户报告。然后,右键单击,选择的一个时间范围,查看此段时间内的账户报告。您也可以通过点击右键,选择将账户报表保存到您的电脑,报告格式为HTML,方便您再浏览器中查看.

我如何在外汇市场中赚取利润?

举例 1。GBP / USD
比方说,您的存款是 3000 美元,杠杆是 1:500。通过这种杠杆作用,在市场上的购买力实际上是 150 万美元。通过您的分析,您预期美元兑各主要货币上涨。因此你决定在市价为1.8000的位置卖出0.10手GBP / USD(GBP / USD每点点值1美元),由于你只想承受10%的风险,因此你设定的止损订单在 1.8300 位置(300 点或 300 美元风险)。12 天之后,GBP / USD 报价为 1.7540,于是你决定对你的卖出头寸平仓。那么,你的利润点就是 1.8000 - 1.7450 = 550 点,你的交易量是 0.1 手,每点的价值是 1 美元,因此你在这笔交易中就获得了 550 美元的利润.
举例 2。USD / JPY
比方说,您的存款是 2000 美元,你的杠杆是 1:200。通过这种杠杆作用,在市场上的购买力实际上是 40 万美元。通过你的分析,你预期美元兑各主要货币下跌。你决定在市价为 111.10 的位置卖出 0.20 手 USD / JPY(USD / JPY 每点点值 2 美元)。你只想承受 10% 风险,因此你设置损失在112.10位置(100点或200美元风险。一个星期后,美元/日元报价为 109.15,您决定平仓。你的利润点是 111.10-109.15=195 点,你的交易量 0.1 手,每点的价值为 2 元,那么在这笔交易中盈利为 $ 390

我如何可以开设一个免费的模拟帐户?

要开设一个标准的模拟账户,请执行以下步骤:

  • 下载的澳大利亚激石 MT4 交易终端;
  • 在您电脑上打开 MT4 平台;
  • 点击菜单上的“文件”——“开新模拟账户”,填写表格,然后点击下一步;
  • 选择“Pepperstone-Demo 服务器”,然后点击下一步.

是否有每月最低或者最高交易手数的限制?

无。您可能最多同时能持有 100 张标准单,并没有其他的限制.

我的账户能保持多久非活动状态?

在 Pepperstone 澳大利亚激石,我们不会停用帐户.

澳大利亚激石提供奖金吗?

不提供。我们提醒客户要警惕那些提供奖金以及免费资金的经纪商。通常他们都为做市商,作为客户的对手盘跟客户的利益相冲突.

外汇市场是如何公平?

外汇被一些人认为是“地球上最公平的市场”,因为外汇市场规模非常庞大,参加人数众多。没有人能够操纵,即使是一个国家的中央银行也不能完全控制一个货币的市场方向.

外汇市场的中心位置在哪里?

外汇并不像股票、期货市场那样,有一个中心交易所。外汇市场是场外交易(OTC)市场,通过互联网从许多不同的国家地区,每天 24 小时,每周 5 天地交易.

在外汇市场的参与者有哪些?

外汇市场也被称为“银行同业拆借市场”,这是由于历史上银行一直主导这个市场,包括中央银行,商业银行,投资银行等。然而,由于所网上交易的普及和可用性,其他市场参与者的百分比快速增长起来,现在包括大型跨国公司,全球基金经理,注册交易商,国际货币经纪,期货及期权交易者以及私人投机者.

外汇市场什么时候开放可以交易?

外汇市场是一个真正的 24 小时市场,首先,外汇交易每天在悉尼最早开始,接着是世界各地在各个金融中心的营业开始,先是东京,然后伦敦,和纽约。与任何其它金融市场不同,投资者可以在任何时间去应对由经济,社会和政治事件所造成的货币波动,无论白天还是夜晚。因为外汇市场是一周 5 天,每天 24 小时开放的。.

在外汇市场最常交易的货币是什么?

最常交易的货币,或者说流动性最好的货币,是那些政府稳定,中央银行受人尊敬,低通货膨胀率国家的货币。今天,超过 85% 的日交易量由主要货币组成,包括美元,日元,欧元,英镑,瑞士法郎,澳大利亚元和加拿大元.

什么是保证金?

保证金是开仓订单必须的抵押品。如果市场变动对客户不利,客户持续亏损,那么客户将被 “追加保证金通知”要求增加保证金。如果没有足够的可用保证金,就会强行平仓客户的合约.

是否有追加保证金,强行平仓的一个标准?

有,强行平仓的标准是当权益下降到只有已用保证金的 50% 的时候会被强行平仓。即是,如果您的权益(权益 = 余额 + 浮动盈利或者 - 浮动亏损)低于持仓订单所需保证金金额的 50% 的时候,那么就会被系统自动地执行强行平仓。计算公式如下:

权益 / 已用保证金 = < 50%

持有“多头”或“空头”头寸是什么意思?

如果你买入某种货币,就是看多,即多头。如果卖出,就是看空,即空头。例如,如果你买入 1 手 EUR / USD,这意味着你持有 100000 欧元兑美元的多头头寸。如果你卖出 10 手美元/加元,这意味着你持有 1 亿美元兑加元的空头头寸.

哪些因素会影响货币的价格?

货币价格(汇率)受各种经济和政治条件影响,其中,最重要的是利率,通货膨胀和政治稳定因素的影响。此外,政府有时会参于外汇市场以影响本国货币价值,无论是抛售本国货币,企图降低货币价格,或与此相反,买入本国货币以提高货币价格。这被称为中央银行的干预。所有这些因素,以及巨量的市价单,都可能会导致货币价格的大幅波动。然而,由于外汇市场上的容量太大,交易总量太高,任何一个实体都不可能操纵这个市场,无论多长的一个时间段.

当我交易是,如何管理风险?

在外汇交易中最常见的风险管理工具是限价单和止损单。限价单限制了支付的最高价,或限制了收取的最低价格。止损单设置了一个特定的位置,能在预定的价格自动清算,为的是如果市场往对投资者的不利的方向波动,那么可以限制潜在的损失.

我应该使用什么样的交易策略?

外汇交易者通过使用技术分析和经济基本面分析来做决定。技术分析使用图表、趋势线、支撑位和阻力位,以及众多的模式和数学分析,以确定交易的机会,而基本面分析者,通过义解读各种经济信息,包括新闻,政府发行的指标和报告甚至传闻谣言来预测价格走势。然而,最显着的价格变动发生在突发事件发生时刻,包括央行提高国内利率,政治选举,甚至是战争行为发生时刻。虽然如此,更多的时候价格变动是由于人们对某个事件能如何影响市场的期望,而不是对某个事件本身结果的期望.

持仓保持多久?

作为一般的规则,订单将会保持,直到发生下列操作之一:1)交易已经实现足够的利润; 2)指定的止损被触发; 3)有更好的其他潜在盈利机会出现,而你需要用这些资金去进行下单.

我对外汇交易感兴趣,但我想获取一些额外的信息。有什么建议吗?

为了获得外汇交易的实践理解,开一个外汇模拟帐户是最好的方法。通过模拟交易,你可以体验交易的感觉而不用担心任何资本损失,另外模拟交易也是一个良好的外汇教育课.

Forex FAQs

 

Questions about Pepperstone

Who is your liquidity provider?

Pepperstone offers liquidity from destinations such as Integral's FX Grid - a global inter-institutional connectivity and trading network, linking banks to FX market participants.

Who owns Pepperstone?

Pepperstone is a private proprietary limited Australian company - our Australian Business Number is 12 147 055 703. Pepperstone is owned by a veteran management-team with years of experience in the forex and technology industries.

How are my funds held with Pepperstone?

Client funds are held in client segregated accounts with the National Australia Bank or HSBC.

Pepperstone Financial Pty Ltd holds the Australian Financial Services License AFSL 414530.

ASIC requires licensed financial services providers to meet strict capital requirements and to implement and comply with internal procedures including risk management, staff training, accounting and audits.

What kind of services does Pepperstone provide?

Pepperstone is an international forex trading firm dealing in over-the-counter forex contracts. Pepperstone gives our clients access to the forex markets including major and minor world currencies, gold and silver.

We offer a unique combination of STP online currency trading using the Metatrader 4 Platform.

What is Pepperstone?

Pepperstone is an Australian based Foreign Exchange trading firm catering for all types of traders from beginners to professionals. If you would like to see a brief history of Pepperstone as well as our regulatory and licensing information, please visit the About Us page.

How can I open a Live Account with Pepperstone?

Opening account is simple. Click the "Open a Live Account" button on the main site and fill in the registration form.

Your Account login (number), trading/investor passwords, PIN code and the server for Meta Trader 4 Platform will be emailed to you. Please, save them for future reference.

Do I have to provide any documents to Pepperstone?

Pepperstone needs 100 points of ID identity documents to verify your account. Full details are available here:

100 Point ID Check

How can I deposit money to my account?

  • Wire transfer from your Bank account
  • Credit Card Deposit
  • Moneybookers

 

How can I withdraw my money?

Submit a Withdrawal form found on the withdrawal section of our website. Withdrawals are processed within 24 hours (1 business day or less).

Do you accept US Clients?

No. Pepperstone prides itself on being an International fx trading firm welcoming clients from across the globe. Sadly US CFTC regulation prevents US clients trading with non US brokers. Pepperstone strictly complies with all International and Australian regulations and thus at present Pepperstone is unable to accept US clients.

 

Questions about Trading Conditions

What is the Pepperstone GMT Offset?

The Pepperstone trading servers are currently set to + 2 Hours.

What time does your Rollover occur?

The Pepperstone rollover occurs at 0:00 MT4 Server Time.

What are your market opening and closing times?

Market Open = 0:05 MT4 Server Time

Market Close = 23:55 MT4 Server Time

*Every day from 0:00 - 0:05 - The Market will be closed for trading - Non-executable prices will still be streamed through the platform at this time.

What level of leverage may I choose for my account?

Leverage available for Pepperstone trading accounts is from 1:1 to 1:400

What is the minimum amount to open an account?

The minimum required deposits for a Pepperstone Trading Accounts is $200USD or Equivalent

What times does the Gold (XAUUSD) Market Trade?

Trading times for Gold (XAUUSD) during GMT +3 (chart time) are:
Open Monday 01:00 (Chart time) and close Friday 23:00 (chart time)
Daily break time 00:00-01:00 (chart time)

 

Common Problems with Metatrader 4

My platform shows 'Trade Context is busy'.

Close and reload the MetaTrader 4 platform. The error should go away.

I can't place a stop loss or take profit order on my trade.

On market execution you cannot place your pending orders before execution of the entry order. After placing the trade, you can add your stop/limit orders through the Terminal.

My Expert Advisor (EA) is not taking any trades.

Check the Experts tab in the Terminal. If the EA is trying to place trades without success it will show an error number. Download a PDF of all MetaTrader 4 error codes.

My Demo will not login.

Demo accounts expire after 30 days as standard. To get a new demo account, in the MetaTrader 4 platform go to File>Open an account and you can generate a new login and password. You do not need to download the platform again.

My account shows as invalid.

The message invalid account shows when the login or password information is incorrect. Please check your login, password and the server address.

I cannot find the swap rates.

Go to the market watch area, right click and choose symbols. Click on the properties for a trading symbol and it will give you all details including the swap rates.

Why are swap rates tripled on positions held over roll-over on a Wednesday?

For positions that are open on Wednesday and held overnight, the amount added or subtracted to an account as a result of rolling over a position (swap) is three times the usual amount. Charging 'triple swap' for Wednesday roll-over accounts for the settlement of trades through the weekend, as swap rates are not charged during this period due to the market being closed.

Why can't I see all the currency pairs?

To view all currency pairs, right click on the market watch and then choose 'Show All'.

I want to change my chart time.

The trading platform time cannot be changed. There are local time indicators available to download from the MetaQuotes community.

 

Questions about Forex

What is the spread?

The Spread is the difference between the BID and the ASK price in the market quotes.
The ASK price is applicable to a BUY order and the BID price is applicable to a SELL order Pepperstone has some of the tightest spreads in the industry. Pepperstone's normal dealing spreads are between 1 and 3 pips for the major currency pairs.

What is the minimum trading volume (lot size) available?

We Support Micro Lots - A Lot size of 0.01 which is equivalent to 1000 units of base currency.

What are the fees, commissions for trading at Pepperstone?

Pepperstone do not charge any fees or commissions. We generate our revenue from a small markup on the spread we receive from the interbank market.

Price Quotes

Pepperstone clients have the ability to execute trades directly from real time streaming quotes, provided by the largest liquidity providers in the forex market. Quotes are updated in real time as the market changes.

How to Trade over the Internet?

Executing trades via the internet is made easy by Pepperstone. Just download and install the Metatrader 4 software and log in to your account. To then open a trade, click the "new order" button in the trading terminal, enter the trading volume desired in the New Order window, then click on the BID (sell) or Offer (Buy) Executing a deal with Pepperstone via the Internet is a simple two-step process. Simply enter the number of lots and then click on the BUY or SELL button to open an instant Market Order. Your deal is then automatically executed by the dealing software which will calculate the margin requirement, and if there is sufficient margin funds available on the account, the deal is confirmed online instantly The open order then appears in your trading terminal and is updated automatically according to market conditions.

Can I set pending orders in the Pepperstone trading platform?

Yes you can. Pepperstone's MT4 software accepts pending orders.

What is margin and how can I calculate how much I need?

Margin the amount of money required in your account in order to open a trade. Margin is a simple calculation based on the current market quote of the base currency vs USD, the volume requested, and the leverage level you have selected when opening your account. The dealing software will not allow you to open a position if you do not have sufficient free margin available. Your free margin is indicated in the MT4 trading terminal. To calculate the margin requirement required to open a trade, please use the following formula: (Market Quote * Volume) / Leverage = $Margin required eg. You want to open 0.1 (10,000 base currency) lots of EUR/USD at the current market quote of 1.4177 and with a leverage level of 1:200. (1.4177 * 10,000) / 200 = $70.89 As you can see from this example, you need at least $70.89 free margin at 1:200 leverage to open the trade. This shows you the power of the leverage offered by Pepperstone. If you choose 1:1 leverage (or no leverage) you would need $14,177 free margin instead of $70.89 just to open this trade!

Can I get a Margin call if I have no free margin?

No. Your free margin can become a negative figure. Your trades will stay open until your available EQUITY level (also indicated in the MT4 terminal) falls to 20% or less of the required margin to open the trades. If you see the previous example in this faq, the trade opened with a margin requirement of $70.89 would not be subject to a margin call unless the account equity falls to $14.18 or less.

Deal Confirmations

Deals are confirmed on screen, typically within one second. Full transaction details may be accessed on screen as well, including date, time, rate, notional amount bought and sold, USD value, and reference number.

Can I see an up to date account statement on screen?

The Pepperstone MT4 software tracks all trading activity in real time, allowing clients to view current open positions, real-time profit and loss, margin availability, account balances, and all historical transaction details directly on-screen. Just select the history tab in the trading terminal

How can I generate account statements?

You may also generate your own reports from the trading terminal by selecting the history tab. Then right click the history shown to be able to choose the period of time to see in the report. By right clicking again, you can also choose to save the report to disk in html format convenient for viewing in your web browser.

How do I make a profit in Forex?

Example 1. GBP/USD
Let's say your deposit is $3,000 and your leverage is set at 1:500. Through this leverage, your buying power on the market is actually $1,500,000. From your analyses, you are expecting the US$ to rise against the major currencies. You decide to SELL 0.10 lots ($1 per pip) of the GBP/USD pair at the market price of 1.8000 and since you only want to risk 10% of your account, you set your stop loss order at 1.8300 (300 pips or $300 risk) 12 days later the GBP/USD quote is 1.7540 and you decide to close your SELL position. Your profit in pips is (1.8000 - 1.7450) 550 pips. Since you chose to trade 0.1 lots volume, and the value per pip is $1. You made a profit of $550 on this trade.
Example 2. USD/JPY Let's say your deposit is $2,000 and your leverage is set at 1:200. Through this leverage, your buying power on the market is actually $400,000. From your analyses, you are expecting the US$ to fall against the major currencies. You decide to SELL 0.20 lots ($2 per pip) of the USD/JPY pair at the market price of 111.10 and since you only want to risk 10% of your account, you set your s loss order at 112.10 (100 pips or $200 risk) A week later the USD/JPY quote is 109.15 and you decide to close your SELL position. Your profit in pips is (111.10-109.15) 195 pips. Since you chose to trade 0.1 lots volume, and the value per pip is $2. You made a profit of $390 on this trade.

How can I open Free Demo account?

To open a Standard Demo account, please, take these steps:

  • Download the Pepperstone MT4 Trading Terminal;
  • Start Pepperstone MT4 Trading Terminal on your PC;
  • Go to menu File/Open an Account, fill in the form and press Next;
  • Choose Pepperstone-Demo server and press Next.

Are there limited number of transactions that I need to make per month?

No. You may have up to 100 trades open at the same time. There are no other limits.

How long I can keep my account inactive?

Here at Pepperstone we do not deactivate accounts.

Does Pepperstone offer bonuses?

No. We ask traders to be wary of Brokers that offer bonuses and free money.

How fair is the Forex market?

Forex is said to be "the fairest market on earth" by some because of its sheer size, and number of participants. No one player, not even the central bank of a particular country can completely control the market direction of a currency.

Where is the central location of the Forex Market?

The forex market is not controlled by a centralised exchange as with stock and futures markets. The forex market is an Over the Counter (OTC) market as transactions are made via the internet from many different locations 24 hours a day, 5 days a week.

Who are the participants in the Forex Market?

The forex market is called an 'Interbank' market due to the fact that historically it has been dominated by banks, including central banks, commercial banks, and investment banks. However, the percentage of other market participants is rapidly growing due to the popularity and availability afforded by internet trading, and now includes large multinational corporations, global money managers, registered dealers, international money brokers, futures and options traders, and private speculators.

When is the forex market open for trading?

A true 24-hour market, forex trading begins each day in Sydney, and moves around the globe as the business day begins in each financial center, first to Tokyo, then London, and New York. Unlike any other financial market, investors can respond to currency fluctuations caused by economic, social and political events at the time they occur - day or night. The market is open 24/5.

What are the most commonly traded currencies in the forex markets?

The most often traded or 'liquid' currencies are those of countries with stable governments, respected central banks, and low inflation. Today, over 85% of all daily transactions involve trading of the major currencies, which include the US Dollar, Japanese Yen, Euro, British Pound, Swiss Franc, Canadian Dollar and the Australian Dollar.

What is Margin?

Margin is essentially collateral for a position. If the market moves against a customer's position, additional funds will be requested through a "margin call." If there are insufficient available funds, immediately the customer's open positions will be closed out.

Is there a Margin Stop Out Level?

Yes - 20%. If your Equity (Balance - Open Profit/Loss) falls below 20% of the margin required to maintain an open position then your positions will be automatically closed. This is calculated as follows:

Equity / Margin = < 20%

What does it mean have a 'long' or 'short' position?

If you're buying some currency, you're opening a 'long' position, if selling - 'short'. For example, if you buy 1 lot of EUR/USD, it means you open long position for 100,000 of EUR against USD. And if you sell 10 lots of USD/CAD that means you open short position for 1 mln of USD versus CAD.

What affects the prices of currencies?

Currency prices (exchange rates) are affected by a variety of economic and political conditions, most importantly interest rates, inflation and political stability. Moreover, governments sometimes participate in the forex market to influence the value of their currencies, either by flooding the market with their domestic currency in an attempt to lower price, or conversely buying in order to raise the price. This is known as Central Bank intervention. Any of these factors, as well as large market orders, can cause high volatility in currency prices. However, the size and volume of the forex market makes it impossible for any one entity to "drive" the market for any length of time.

How do I manage risk when I trade currencies?

The most common risk management tools in forex trading are the limit order and the stop loss order. A limit order places restriction on the maximum price to be paid or the minimum price to be received. A stop loss order sets a particular position to be automatically liquidated at a predetermined price in order to limit potential losses should the market move against an investor's position.

What kind of trading strategy should I use?

Currency traders make decisions using both technical factors and economic fundamentals. Technical traders use charts, trend lines, support and resistance levels, and numerous patterns and mathematical analyses to identify trading opportunities, whereas fundamentalists predict price movements by interpreting a wide variety of economic information, including news, government-issued indicators and reports, and even rumor. The most dramatic price movements however, occur when unexpected events happen. The event can range from a Central Bank raising domestic interest rates to the outcome of a political election or even an act of war. Nonetheless, more often it is the expectation of an event that drives the market rather than the event itself.

How long are positions maintained?

As a general rule, a position is kept open until one of the following occurs: 1) realization of sufficient profits from a position; 2) the specified stop loss is triggered; 3) another position that has a better potential appears and you need these funds.

I am interested in forex trading, but would like some additional information. Any suggestions?

In order to gain a practical understanding of foreign exchange trading, there is no better way than to open a forex demo account, where you can experience what its like to trade the forex market without risking any capital + take a good forex educational course.